The Next Big Thing Blog Tour

It was a pleasure and honor to be chosen for The Next Big Thing tour by my friend and author George Pappas. This tour is meant to highlight existing work as well as introduce readers to upcoming projects. George sent me a list of questions to help you all get to know Ring Binder a little better. So here we go!

Q: What is the working title of your book?
A: The first book in The Binding of Twelve series is called Ring Binder.

 
Q: Where did the idea come from for the book?
A: I used to be an avid reader. In fact, I spent most of my childhood buried in books. They were a wonderful escape and kept my mind busy. In my late teens, I found that the books available on the market no longer captured my attention. So I started making up stories of my own. Initially, they were just movies that played in my head, but over time I began to write them down.

This is how Ring Binder began, from a fairytale I cooked up in my head. A couple of years ago, I started thinking about the concept of Binding. In fairytales, characters bind themselves to each. It’s a romantic concept, a way to show the world that their hearts are joined forever. So, I thought why not apply it to everyday objects?

Part of this has to do my spiritual beliefs. I believe that people leave an imprint of themselves on things they own. Part of their soul binds to their possessions. I ran with this concept and my secret love of all things magical. In the end, I created nine Binding objects (each with their own powers), the Mutani who watch over them, the Binders who use the objects, and the Iska (soul feeding demons obsessed with regaining the power that the Mutani had stolen).

Q: What genre does your book fall under?
A: *cringe* Young Adult and Urban Fantasy. I didn’t set out to write in these particular genres, but apparently that’s where I ended up.

 
Q: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
A: Honestly, I haven’t thought this far ahead. I suppose in the future this may be more important, but for now I want to concentrate on finishing the series.

 
Q: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A: Sorry, but I couldn’t do one sentence even if I tried. You get the synopsis instead. #howIroll

“All power is borrowed, even ours. Eventually, it too will set as the moon rises.” ~ Samuel Lonary, Beyond the Veil (Character from Ring Binder)

Destiny. Power. Bindings.

All words from my childhood. Fairytales I once believed in, but everyone has to grow-up and live in the real world. At least, that was what I thought before the Iska appeared.

The townspeople thought Gran was crazy. In truth, so did I. Would you believe someone who told you an evil race of beings hunted you, and only you had the power to save the world? Yeah, I didn’t believe her either.

Then why did I feel so guilty? Well, the why was easy. Because she’d been right all along. The Iska hunted us both and I led them right to us.

But guilt and regret couldn’t change the fact that I had rejected my destiny, destroying so much. My only choice was to find out why she left our people, the Mutaní, and uncover the secrets she worked so hard to protect me from. In doing so, her truth would become mine…

My name is Allison, and I am the Ring Binder.

 
Q: Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

A: The Binding series is represented and will be published by Evolved Publishing.

 
Q: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

A: It took about two years to put all the pieces together, and three weeks to write the bulk of the book.

 
Q: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

A: I would have to say the best comparison is Harry Potter meets Twilight.

 
Q: Who or What inspired you to write this book?

A: Hm, should I admit this in public? Okay, so several years ago I’d gone through a difficult stretch in my marriage and life. I went to see a therapist to sort everything out. Through the course of our sessions we talked about my stories and the movies that play in my head as well as dreams.

Turns out that Cynthia, the therapist, was a huge supporter of writing and the arts. She prodded me to begin writing my stories down. After a few weeks, I delivered the very first chapter ever in the Binding series. Her overwhelmingly positive reaction gave me the confidence to continue. Now, several years later, I have a publishing contract for all three books.

Thank you, Cynthia!

 
Q: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

A: Pay attention to the covers of each book. My incredible cover artist, Sam Keiser, helped me incorporate a tarot card theme in the cover. A major plot element will be strung between the three books and the covers will be the map. Happy hunting!

And that’s the Ring Binder in a nutshell!

Now, I’m a perfectionist. I know there’s been some frustration on the part of my supporters and friends because the first book was supposed to be released October 1st. Here’s the thing, the very first book we put out sets the tone for our career. We either work to create a strong foundation that will continue to grow or throw books up just for the sake of saying we have something published. I prefer the former.

This is the first look the world will get at my work. I want to make sure it’s the best possible story I can create at this moment in my career. Attention to detail, flow, voice, and plot all need to be as perfect as I can get them. So, after a long and honest discussion with my publishers, we’ve decided that launching in May is our target. This will give me time to clean up the details, get everything out to beta readers and build-up buzz for the release.

Thanks for stopping by. 🙂 Check out who I’ve chosen to be the Next Big Thing!

P. S. this wasn’t easy…

Ellen Weeren

Emlyn Chand

Michael Dadich

Dan Conklin

Lisette Brodey

Categories: Drive by life | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Tour

  1. That’s when the magic really begins, isn’t it? When most of what’s out there no longer captures our attention anymore, and we must explore our own creative yearnings!

    I believe in binding objects also. Most people with spiritual beliefs think it’s materialistic but I’ve always disagreed, feeling there was something more. A deeper connection. Now you’ve helped me develop my argument. I’ll point ’em to Ranee Dillon’s binding objects. Ha ha! 🙂

    • Oh my Goodness! What a wonderful comment, oh Pink One. 🙂 This series came from the belief that people imprint part of themselves on objects. Part of their soul travels to the next owner of that object and they experience emotions (happiness or sadness) of the previous owner.

      Thank you for stopping by. *Heart Hugs*

  2. Double-D Darby

    YAY for Ring Binder. I was a beta reader and really enjoyed it. Can’t wait to read the final version ❤

  3. I made the list and I have to write a (brief) synopsis – #AreYouFreakinKiddingMe? tee hee

Let me know Your thoughts right here...

Blog at WordPress.com.

