The Mirror

*   *   *   *   *

Sometimes you don’t realize you’re drowning until you wake up in the middle of high tide. The castle you spent hours building is a lump of wet sand and all the shovels have washed away. It’s no use starting again because no matter how far up the beach you go the water will follow. Some things can’t be dismissed with a blink. They’re like little flies at a picnic, always finding a way under the glass.

I used to have faith in the universe, so sure it would lead me to the perfect place, but I think I get it now. Sure, it lends a hand when you’re really lost; if you’re looking hard enough, but it’s not going to do the work. No, that’s up to you. You have to pull your ass out of bed, hop in the shower, and sit down. It doesn’t matter if all you’re putting out is gibberish. The point is you keep moving forward, one word at a time.

If I wasn’t such a damn perfectionist I might have figured it out sooner. That’s not really true, I knew it all along. It’s just I’m a master saboteur. If there’s a way to screw up the momentum I’ll find it, no matter the lengths I have to travel. I’m skilled at make believe (hell, that’s why I became a writer) and I have perfected one talent to the extreme: Self-deception; closely followed by excuse making.

It’s funny how you can be so open with other people, but never truly honest with yourself. So, for better or worse, this is me being honest with myself.

I’m brilliantly skilled at throwing myself into something to the point of exhaustion, only to walk away when the work becomes work. I always have something to write, I’m just good at avoiding the effort it takes to produce anything. I can destroy my dreams in an instant, without a word or thought, and I often do. I’ll walk away from you telling myself it’s the best thing for you, but it’s really for me. I’m flighty and often more insecure than I admit, because I don’t want to seem weak. I often get so caught up in the moment I forget about the things and people I care about.

~   ~   ~   ~   ~

That’s me in a nutshell. Love me, hate me, judge me…I’m past all that now. Now I move forward or, more accurately, stumble forward. Join me or don’t, in either case I have one message for you…

 

*   *   *   *   *

“If you’re faced with a choice…”

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “The Mirror

  1. Kimberly

    I do not think there is not a line that I do not relate to. Thank you for this heartfelt post! You are truly an amazing person. I cherish getting to know you on twitter. I hope good things for you!

    • Awww, you are so very sweet! I’m glad you found something to relate to in the post. It always make me happy when people can connect with the words. *Heart Hugs* xo

  2. possibly my favorite to date.

    xo

  3. Superb!!
    Loved reading this.
    Self-deception and excuse making are surely two satans which cause a lot of problems. I am in the process of getting over these two.

    The message and the songs is an icing on the cake 🙂

    • Thank you, sweetie ~smile~ Being honest with yourself can be a painful process, but it’s long past time for me to start. I’m happy you heard my message. xo

Let me know Your thoughts right here...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

